top of page
  • Writer's pictureKierston

My Skincare Routine

Growing up my mother taught me the importance of a skincare routine and to say that I am so grateful would be an understatement! She always told my sister and I that we only get one skin, so we need to take care of it, and that statement has been stuck in my head ever since. There are so many benefits to taking care of your skin; you will feel so confident without makeup (I honestly hate wearing it), you won't have to spend a lot of money on makeup because you won't need it, but the biggest one is the way that taking care of your skin will teach you to value yourself and the way that you feel.





Since she first took me to the dermatologist in high school to teach me this wonderful lesson, I have developed such a love for skincare myself. So I thought I would share my skincare routine that I do every morning and evening!


First, I wash with ProActiv's Renewing Cleanser. I have been using this product since high school and honestly I have seen nothing but great and consistent results. Especially because I have naturally oily skin, and exercise and sweat daily. But some people have tried it and says that it dries their skin out too much, so if you have naturally dry or sensitive skin, this may not be for you!





Second, I apply my eye creams. I first use NeoCutis's Lumiere Illuminating Eye Cream on my under eyes and then I massage Glossier's Bubble Wrap onto my eyelid and work up to my brow bone. I do this in through the fall and winter because I am a runner, and running outside in the cold weather mixed with the sweat can sometimes dry out the thin and sensitive skin around my eyes.





Third, I moisturize! I take a pump of Obagi's Therapeutic Moisturizer and a pump of their Retinol 1.0 Cream and mix it in my hand. I then apply it to my cheeks, forehead, nose, chin, and neck until it's all rubbed in!





Lastly, I use Smith's Rosebud Salve on my lips because I literally cannot stand when my lips are dry.




Just remember that everyone's skin is different so what works for me, may not work for you and that's okay! The big lesson to take away from this is investing in your skincare is so important because as my mom says, we only get one!


Some other things I love doing for my skin, that I would recommend you do with yours are:


Dry Brushing (Not only is this wonderful for keeping skin soft and smooth, but it has great benefits for your lymphatic system and circulation.)


Facial Rolling and/or Facial Massaging (This increases circulation in your face, helps stimulate collagen production, reduces puffiness and dark circles, and is also so good for your lymphatic system! And if you don't have a roller, facial massaging with your hands is proven to be just as effective, if not more effective.)


Get Good Sleep (Sleeping is when your skin cells regenerate so it helps with your overall glow, and obviously it will help reduce dark circles)


Stay Hydrated (Duh)

28 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page