top of page
  • Writer's pictureKierston

DIY Tree Stump Plant Stand




I would consider my style to be organic and earthy, in color, texture and overall vibe. I love to bring the outdoors into my home, whether it be through house plants, materials used in decorating or the color of my decor. So, when I was gifted this tree stump from a design client, it was not a question of if I would use it in my home, but rather, how would I use it in my home? Little did I know that it would become a favorite piece of mine with lots of meaning.


After letting the stump dry in my garage for a month or two, on October 22, 2021 (exactly one year before my wedding) Joey and I decided to pull it out and begin to peel the bark off. After peeling off all of the bark we noticed that there was a heart carved into the tree from many years before. Given the date, we couldn't help but take this as a sign from God. It was then that I knew that the piece would need a place, front and center in my home. After giving it much thought, I decided to use it as a plant stand at the end of my hallway. This placement would ensure that I see it everyday, and remember the beautiful blessings God has placed in my life and gratitude I feel for Joey and our love.


After peeling off the bark I used my electric sander and sanded down the stump. First, with 80 grit, then 120 grit, then 220 grit and lastly with 350 grit so that it was nice and smooth.


Once the sanding was done, I wiped it with a microfiber cloth and stained it with some ebony colored stain. After letting it dry for a day, then I put two coats of poly on top to seal it all, and it was all done!





After giving it a good two days to completely dry, I brought it in and put it at the end of my hall! I got a snake plant from Lowes to put on top, they don't require much light so it was perfect! And, now I have this meaningful piece of decor that is one-of-a-kind and brings such an organic and warm vibe to that space!




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page