top of page
  • Writer's pictureKierston

My Living Room Re-Do

Oh my gosh, HI! It has been so long since I posted on my blog and I am so happy that I am back at it! I started this during the COVID shutdown, but then I got a new job as an interior designer at La Rouge Home & Design. I am LOVING it. Anyway, we have been super busy with the home and I am just excited to be making time for this again.


Our first big project in the home since I got my new job was designing our living room. In my opinion, a living room is the most important space in your home because you spend the majority of your time here. Needless to say, when Joe gave the green light, I was very happy to get started.





Now, we had already painted when we moved in. All the walls in our main living areas are painted Campfire Ash, a Behr Color. It is a light greige and I love how light and warm it is! With that being out of the way, the first big step was choosing a sofa. Joey and I have a HUGE living room, which is full of natural light and we adore it. Joey wanted something comfortable and cozy, and I wanted a sectional in a light color. I was able to get this perfect sectional at La Rouge.




Once that came in (and it took a while due to the crazy shipping problems we have these days), I was able to find a rug. We carry Loloi Rugs at La Rouge and their rugs are gorgeous! I wanted something in earth tones to go with the stone and honestly, I just lean towards those colors anyway. Plus I loved that this rug is washable with no pile, perfect for our dog and eventual children.


My boss gifted me with the STUNNING, ever-popular, gleaming primrose mirror from Anthropologie. Needless to say I was speechless by this gesture and made it front and center on the wall in my favorite space.


Then I chose my end tables, which I got from Target, these black stools with the wood top ground pull in the black from the rug and their shape adds such visual interest. My coffee table was a handmade from my father-in-law, which is truly my favorite piece in this room. It's clean lines make it such a timeless piece. Plus I have plenty of room for storage baskets underneath.




Then I added some gold metal lamps for a warm, but different texture. Hung curtains, I opted for a light color and fabric because I prefer the airy look of them. The rattan shelf (another favorite piece) was a gift from a design client I was working with. It was his grandmothers and he was going to just give it away to Goodwill. I am so glad that I was able to tell him how rattan furniture like that was super popular these days, and that I loved it. When he asked me if I wanted it, I did not hesitate in saying hell yeah. Not only is it storage for all my plants, but the rattan is another added earthy texture and its arched shape is unique.


The hardest part for me was my fireplace and what to put on that. Art is tricky and personal, so it took me a while to find a piece of art that I wanted to put on my mantel. And with the size of my mantel, I knew I was going to be layering more than one thing with the art. Joey proposed to me in our living room, and I got the lyrics of the song that was playing when he did propose, printed and framed to put up there. Then, I found this beautiful canvas from target that had all the right colors and I loved it. I was just waiting on the third piece. Then, it came to me! My grandmother had come over and brought this original etching of a C&O Barge that she had, and told me she thought I might like it for my home since we live in Williamsport, 5 minutes away from the C&O Canal. It was perfect! Neutral and meaningful!




Lastly, was the pillows and throws. I chose neutral colors in different textures, and really pulled out that caramel color from the stone.




This room took over a year to bring together, but I am glad for that time because I was able to create a space full of pieces and furniture that genuinely mean something to me, while still being stylish. From the gifted rattan shelf to the handmade coffee table, to the etching from my grandmother to the beautiful gleaming primrose from my boss. This space is cozy, relaxing and warm, while being a reminder of all the blessings and love we have in our life everyday!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page